Text to speech free trials compared
Trial length, whether you need a card, what you actually get, whether you can download the audio, and what happens on the last day. Twelve text to speech tools that are live in 2026, side by side.
Quick facts
- Longest trial, no card
- LOVO Genny: 14 days of Pro, 20 minutes of generation, no downloads
- Downloads on free and trial
- FreeTTS: MP3 on the free plan and during the 3-day PRO trial
- Shortest trial
- Speechify and FreeTTS PRO, 3 days, both need a card and convert to paid
- No trial, free plan instead
- ElevenLabs (10,000 credits/month), Murf (10 min), WellSaid (3 download min/month), Descript
- Biggest free volume
- Amazon Polly: 1M Neural characters a month for 12 months
- No signup at all
- FreeTTS (2,000 chars/day) and Narakeet (20 files)
- Commercial use on free
- Only the cloud APIs (Polly, Google Cloud, Azure) under their service terms
- Gone
- PlayHT shut down on December 31, 2025
Hear FreeTTS in 5 seconds
No signup, no cardWant longer text, more voices, or PDF support? Open the main FreeTTS tool or try PDF to Audiobook.
Free trial terms, side by side
Read from each provider's pricing page, help centre or terms on September 14, 2026.
- Our tool
FreeTTS
Free plan + PRO trialLengthFree: no end. PRO trial: 3 days- Card needed
- Free: no. Trial: yes
- Downloads
- MP3, no tag on trial
- Commercial use
- On PRO
What you get2,000 chars/day with no account, 15,000/month free account, 50,000 on the trial
When it endsTrial becomes PRO $19/mo unless cancelled
- Timed trial
Speechify
Premium trialLength3 days- Card needed
- Yes
- Downloads
- Listening app
- Commercial use
- Not stated
What you getPremium features; free plan keeps 10 voices up to 1.5x
When it endsConverts to paid, $29/mo monthly
- Timed trial
LOVO Genny
Pro trialLength14 days- Card needed
- No
- Downloads
- No downloads, watermarked share links
- Commercial use
- No
What you get20 min of generation, then 5 min/month on Free
When it endsDrops to the Free plan
- Timed trial
NaturalReader
Free plan + commercial trialLengthCommercial trial: 7 days- Card needed
- Not stated
- Downloads
- Paid
- Commercial use
- Commercial plan
What you getPremium voices 20 min/day (personal); 10,000 chars/day sampling (commercial)
When it endsPremium from $20.90/mo
- Free plan
ElevenLabs
Free planLengthNo end- Card needed
- No
- Downloads
- Yes
- Commercial use
- No
What you get10,000 credits/month
When it endsStarter $6/mo for 30,000 credits
- Free plan
Murf
Free planLengthNo end- Card needed
- No
- Downloads
- No downloads
- Commercial use
- No
What you get10 min of voice generation, 2 projects
When it endsPaid from $19/mo
- Free plan
WellSaid
Free planLengthNo time limit- Card needed
- No
- Downloads
- 3 min/month
- Commercial use
- No
What you get3 download minutes/month
When it endsStarter $19/mo ($10/mo yearly)
- Free plan
Descript
Free planLengthNo end- Card needed
- No
- Downloads
- Watermarked
- Commercial use
- Paid
What you get60 media min/month, 100 AI credits one time
When it endsHobbyist $16/mo
- Free plan
Narakeet
Free conversionsLength20 files- Card needed
- No signup
- Downloads
- MP3 / WAV
- Commercial use
- Paid credits
What you getUp to 1,000 characters per file, all voices, MP3 or WAV
When it ends$6 for 30 min, credits never expire
- Cloud API
Amazon Polly
Free tierLength12 months (Neural)- Card needed
- AWS account
- Downloads
- Via API
- Commercial use
- Yes
What you get1M Neural chars/month for 12 months, 5M Standard; up to $200 credits for new accounts
When it endsPay per character
- Cloud API
Google Cloud TTS
Free tierLengthMonthly, ongoing- Card needed
- Billing account
- Downloads
- Via API
- Commercial use
- Yes
What you get4M Standard, 1M WaveNet chars/month
When it endsPay per character
- Cloud API
Azure AI Speech
Free (F0) tierLengthMonthly, ongoing- Card needed
- Azure account
- Downloads
- Via API
- Commercial use
- Yes
What you get0.5M neural chars/month
When it endsPay per character
Trial terms change often. Every figure links to its source below; if one is out of date, tell us.
The trials worth starting, and their catches
Ordered by how much a typical person can get done before the trial or free allowance runs out.
FreeTTS
Best for: a trial you can walk away from with real files.
This is our site, so weigh that. The case for it on a trial page is simple: you do not need the trial to judge the voices. The free plan works with no account (2,000 characters a day) and a free account raises that to 5,000 a day and 15,000 a month, with MP3 downloads. When you want the HD voices and longer files, the 3-day PRO trial gives you 50,000 characters with no audio tag. It asks for a card because it turns into PRO at $19 a month; cancel before day 3 and you pay nothing.
What works
- Judge voices on the free plan before starting any trial
- Downloads work on free, with no tag during the trial
- PDF to audiobook and a free API on the same account
The catch
- Trial needs a card
- Free MP3s carry a short FreeTTS audio tag
- No mobile app
Speechify
Best for: listening to documents on your phone.
Speechify's 3-day Premium trial unlocks its full voice set and faster reading speeds in the app. Its terms are clear that the trial converts to a paid subscription at the then-current price and charges the card you gave at sign-up, unless you cancel first. The monthly plan is $29 on its pricing page, with a discount for yearly. It is built for listening, not for producing audio files.
What works
- Polished reading apps
- Strong document and web import
- Cancel from Manage Billing
The catch
- Card required and auto-converts
- Three days is short
- Not made for exporting voiceovers
LOVO Genny
Best for: the longest trial without a card.
New Genny accounts get 14 days of the Pro plan with no payment details. You get 20 minutes of generation during those two weeks, then 5 minutes a month once you drop to Free. The catch is downloads: you cannot download projects during the trial. You can share a link, and that playback carries a LOVO watermark.
What works
- No card, no auto-charge
- Full Pro feature set for two weeks
- Projects stay after the trial
The catch
- No downloads during the trial
- Shared links are watermarked
NaturalReader
Best for: readers who want premium voices a little every day.
NaturalReader's personal free plan lets you sample premium voices for 20 minutes a day, which resets daily rather than expiring. Its commercial product has a limited 7-day trial and allows 10,000 characters a day of sampling for free users. Premium personal plans are listed at $20.90 billed monthly.
What works
- Daily allowance never runs out for good
- Separate commercial trial
The catch
- Personal and commercial are separate products
- Downloads are a paid feature
ElevenLabs
Best for: testing top-end voice realism with no card.
ElevenLabs does not run a timed trial. Its free plan gives 10,000 credits a month with no card, which is enough for a few minutes of speech. Free output is not for commercial use. The paid ladder starts at Starter, $6 a month for 30,000 credits, and Creator at $22 a month, with the first month discounted.
What works
- Resets monthly, so testing never expires
- Downloads on free
The catch
- Small allowance
- No commercial rights on free
Murf
Best for: previewing a voiceover studio.
Murf's free plan includes 10 minutes of voice generation and 2 projects, with no card. You can build and play a project, but downloads are not included on the free plan, so nothing leaves the studio. Paid plans run from $19 to $130 a month, and a one-time pack covers 30 minutes valid for 30 days.
What works
- Full studio editor to try
- No card
The catch
- No downloads on free
- No commercial rights on free
WellSaid
Best for: corporate narration with a tiny free allowance.
WellSaid now offers a free plan with no time limit and no card: 3 download minutes a month, without commercial rights. Starter is $19 a month, or $10 a month billed $120 yearly. The voices lean toward training and explainer narration.
What works
- Real downloads on free
- No time limit
The catch
- Three minutes a month is tight
- No commercial rights on free
Amazon Polly
Best for: developers who need volume for a year.
Polly's free tier is the biggest by characters: 5 million Standard characters a month, plus 1 million Neural, 500,000 Long-Form and 100,000 Generative characters a month for the first 12 months. AWS accounts opened since July 15, 2025 also get up to $200 in credits. It is an API, not an app, so you need an AWS account and some code.
What works
- Huge free volume
- Output usable in your own products
The catch
- Needs an AWS account and code
- No studio or editor
How to test a text to speech voice in 60 seconds
A trial clock is short. Use it on the parts of speech that break cheap voices.
1. Paste a real paragraph
Use 80 to 120 words from your actual script, with a number, a name and a question in it. Demo sentences hide problems.
2. Pick two voices
Choose two voices in the same language and accent so you are comparing voices, not accents.
3. Listen for the hard parts
How does each voice read "$1,250", a brand name, and the rising tone of a question? That is where voices differ.
4. Download and play elsewhere
Play the file on a phone speaker. If the trial won't let you download, you can't do this step, which tells you something.
Not sure how long your script runs? Use our words to minutes calculator before you spend trial minutes.
Can you publish what you make on a trial?
Free plans: usually personal only
ElevenLabs, WellSaid and Murf state no commercial rights on free. Treat free-plan audio as a test, not a deliverable.
Paid trials follow the paid plan
A trial of a paid plan normally carries that plan's terms while it runs, but read the plan page; some limit trial use.
Cloud APIs: your product, your call
Polly, Google Cloud and Azure let you use generated speech in your own apps under their service terms, free tier included.
Full breakdown by provider: text to speech commercial use matrix. Price per million characters: TTS API pricing.
Free trial questions
How we checked
Provider pages only
Every trial length, allowance and card rule came from the provider's own pricing page, help centre or terms, checked on September 14, 2026.
Live tools only
We left out tools that no longer run. PlayHT was acquired by Meta and closed on December 31, 2025.
Stated terms, not promotions
Discount codes and seasonal offers change weekly, so we list the standing terms. Where a page is silent, the table says "Not stated".
Our bias, disclosed
FreeTTS publishes this page and is listed first. We ranked the rest on what you can get done, with no affiliate links.
Where every figure came from
Consumer apps
Speechify terms and pricing; LOVO free trial help article; NaturalReader personal plans and commercial plans.
Voice studios
ElevenLabs pricing; Murf pricing; WellSaid pricing; Descript pricing; Narakeet pricing.
FreeTTS
Plan limits from our pricing page: free 5,000 characters a day and 15,000 a month on a free account, PRO $19/month for 1,000,000 characters, 3-day trial capped at 50,000 characters.
Skip the trial clock
Hear 2,250+ voices free, no signup, and download the MP3. Start the PRO trial only when you need it.